Grace Stapper, President

Lindley McPhail, Co-First Vice-President

Pegi Holtz, Co-First Vice-President

Louise Houle, Second Vice-President

Manja Bastian, Treasurer

Connie Johnston, Secretary

Carole Van Die, Past President

Susan Barr, Director

Linda Duhamel, Director

Maria-Claire Ivanski, Director

Julie Keravel, Director

Christine Lanthier, Director

Marilyn MacMillan, Director

Diane Sharp, Director

Peter Van Die, Director

Marianne Vedder, Director

Spring Plant Sale

Louise Houle

Pegi Holtz


Juniors Liaison

Julie Keravel


Library Liaison

Lindley McPhail


High School Awards

Marilyn MacMillan


Flower Shows

Louise Houle

Pegi Holtz


Garden Tours

Louise Houle


Day trips

Louise Houle


Louise Houle



Manja Bastian

Linda DuHamel


Historical Records

Margaret Helliker



Marilyn MacMillan



Linda DuHamel



Jacqueline Wyss

Pegi Holtz



Our society is all volunteer run and we have several committees that are tasked with leading various activities (plant sale, flower shows, awards, workshops, etc.) We also like to acknowledge major events in our members lives and to that end, we have a Sunshine Committee who send messages of congratulations for births, anniversaries, significant birthdays etc., as well as sending messages of condolence to families at the death of one of our members.  If you know of an event that should be acknowledged, please contact either our president or the Sunshine Committee.

The objectives of the Russell and District Horticultural Society are to encourage interest and education in horticulture by:


- holding meetings and educational workshops;

- encouraging the planting of trees, shrubs and flowers in our community;

- promoting outdoor beautification;

- arranging field trips, competitions and exhibitions related to horticulture;

- distributing seeds, plants, bulbs, flowers, trees and shrubs;

- promoting the protection of the natural environment;

- promoting the circulation of horticultural information through any media;

- stimulating an interest in the study of horticulture in gardeners of all ages.


Copyright 2022-2023 Russell and District Horticultural Society